Nintendo’s E3 Conference Review Part 2

Sigh… I was hoping that the second half of Nintendo’s E3 performance (you know, the one devoted entirely to the 3DS) would be just slightly better. No such luck. Barely any games of actual interest graced the stage.  There were good games, but they suffered from a very bad presentation. Nintendo, you didn’t do very well this year. Just saying.

Well, you have a point.

Let’s just recap already and get over with.

Cats make everything better!

LUIGI’S MANSION: DARK MOON – More information into the King of Second Fiddles’ spooky sequel was given, and it genuinely looks like a good game! The exploration of multiple mansions seems like it could make for a very interesting game, one that would hopefully be much longer than its unsatisfactorily-short prequel. I’m definitely going to enjoy using a chopped vacuum to absorb restless specters in stereoscopic 3D! I have but one small irk about it, though: The ghosts look too… generic. They lack the quirky charm of the first game’s ghouls, But I digress. This one is undoubtedly going to be on my list of must-buy games, right up there with Pikmin 2!

PAPER MARIO: STICKER STAR – This one seems like another must-buy! As a huge Paper Mario fan, I’m ecstatic that the series has taken the jump to a handheld system. It also returns the series to its RPG roots, unlike the third entry to the series, Super Paper Mario. (SPM was a good game, but lacked that beloved Paper Mario feel.) In this chapter of the Paper Mario saga, stickers dot the Mushroom Kingdom, and affect everything from the environment to battle. For example, a giant fan could be transformed into a sticker to create an attack to blow away the enemies. The game looks really cool, too, despite a bad presentation at the conference itself. However, there’s just one thing. Stickers? Really, Nintendo? That’s just so… childish. I’m going to buy it, don’t get me wrong, but it’s just so juvenile I can barely take it seriously.

CASTLEVANIA: LORDS OF SHADOW, MIRROR OF FATE – Control the legendary Trevor and Simon Belmont on their epic 2D platforming quest to stop the evil Dracula – AKA their ancestor Gabriel Belmont – who has declared war on the Brotherhood of Light. With a unique combat system, special magic powers and an epic plot, this titanic clash and revelation of the Belmont lineage looks like one heck of a game!

SCRIBBLENAUTS UNLIMITED – Like I said in my previous article, this game looks really cool. However, if I get it, I’ll get it on the Wii U. There’s just something about open world adventuring that I just find more fit to the TV screen.

KINGDOM HEARTS 3D: DREAM DROP DISTANCE: You waited, and here it is: The sequel to Kingdom Hearts 2. I’ll admit, I was never the huge Final Fantasy/Kingdom Hearts fan, and though I’ve heard KH2 was great, I must admit that this game probably won’t hook me into the series. The plot is somewhat original (Entering a world of dreams to become a master swordsman – er, keysman – isn’t that overdone) and the game itself looks great (need I point out the TRON: Legacy inspired world? ), but it just doesn’t seem to fit my interests. If I had to assume, though, Kingdom Hearts fans will want first cracks at this one.

NEW SUPER MARIO BROS. 2 – Just another Mario platformer. Nothing new here. The main hook to the game is that while Bowser has kidnapped Princess Peach, the Mushroom Kingdom has become a coin wonderland. Yeah. Coins. Get used to the “ba-ding!” coin sound effect, ’cause you’ll be hearing it a lot. While the special prize for getting one million coins is mysteriously intriguing, the two-player co-op sounds very fun, and the Tanooki Tail allows flight once again, this doesn’t seem that alluring.

DISNEY EPIC MICKEY: POWER OF ILLUSION – I enjoyed the first Epic Mickey title, and consider it a shame that their upcoming Wii title Disney Epic Mickey: The Power of Two wasn’t shown at all at this year’s E3. It looks like a great game with a more in-depth look at the Wasteland, world of forgotten Disney characters. Instead… this. While I appreciate the attempt at reviving the Sega Genesis game Castle of Illusion Starring Mickey Mouse, this game just doesn’t seem to cut it for me. First of all, the gimmick of the game is to draw things in the bottom screen, and they’ll appear in the top screen. Not that amazing, is it? On top of that, its graphics seem like they belong in a GameBoy Advance title. Sigh… Probably not a game I’ll get.

While I respect Scott Moffitt (Nintendo Sales Representative) and understand that this is only his second E3, I really question his methods. Few games for the 3DS were shown, and most of them weren’t appealing. Better luck next time, Scott.

I hate to repeat myself, but… There was NO NEW KIRBY. NO NEW METROID. NO NEW F-ZERO. NO NEW STARFOX. NO NEW ZELDA. NO NEW DONKEY KONG. And still NOTHING ON THE NEW SMASH BROS. Facepalm, anyone?

Check the full list of games – once again – at Nintendo’s E3 website.

This entry was posted in Gaming and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Nintendo’s E3 Conference Review Part 2

  1. Minishdriveby says:

    I’m cautiously optimistic about Paper Mario: Sticker Star. I have some doubts about the sticker command gameplay, lack of partners, and no leveling up, but I am still excited about this game.

    I was a little excited and a little disappointed when Castlevania:LoS-MoF was announced because I really liked the Lords of Shadow on the PS3; however, I loved the game play of the DS games which is absent in this one. Seeing the live demos made me rethink my excitement.

    I’m not really looking into Scribblenauts because the original was pretty bad; the best part was the title screen. However, I saw the trailer and it does look like they changed things up.

    Luigi’s Mansion 2, NSMB2, and Kingdom Hearts are all must buys.

    I like the art style of Mickey. I probably won’t get the game, but I’m glad they didn’t get rid of the 2D sprite artstyle just because the new hardware can do 3D models. I hope more games look like Epic Mickey 2.

    • Keep in mind that in the new Paper Mario title, there will be leveling up, but through doing good deeds and not through battles. (I’m not so sure on it myself, but…) We’ve also seen screenshots and footage of a few partners, including a crown-shaped sticker spirit named Kersti, a Green Toad, and a Chain Chomp. I could care less about the first two (though Kersti’s paperizing option seems pretty cool), but a Chain Chomp partner would be epic.

Leave a Reply

